image1

Epicurus has been revolving in mind lately, even when he was born 341 BC. To submerge in books at one point, pays off at another.

Today is my birthday and I have to say it has been an awesome year. It has been full of good days. Most of them with things or experiences I have wanted or wished or dreamed about. But what happens when in the midst of all that, what I call “abundance”,  I felt something missing. Of course looking deep into life, some things could have been better, but they were good and even great sometimes.

In a certain week, it happened with love, family and work. Looking for something else when what I had was what I wished for. I had an amazing boyfriend, my dad’s cancer was not spread to other organs, and two years ago I have been experiencing a job with weekends off.

I had to stop myself for giving me such a hard time with pessimism.  I am not talking about being complacent or not being grateful. Each one of us know when we are not appreciating what we have.

It took me a bit of time(hormones always make things worst), to acknowledge the present moment and re-birth again. As Epicurus said, I reminded myself: “Do not spoil what you have by desiring what you have not; remember that what you now have was once among the things you only hoped for.”

Thanks Epicurus for the reminder,  and books for keeping him alive.

Today I will blow a candle and wish for the best of things. They are always welcomed.

