image

If something was absolutely clear when I entered a “yoga in a chair” class, for the elderly and persons with disabilities, was that I was not in control.

Mom was very excited when I accepted to go with her to this class that she has been attending with dad lately. Dad didn’t feel good when he woke up, so he decided to stay home.

As soon as I entered the room I was greeted by very old people (70 or 80+). That felt very refreshing. The instructor welcomed me as well, and said to mom, “put your mat here”. I decided to put mine next to her, but that wasn’t the instructor’s plan. I had already laid down my mat and placed a chair above it; gently she removed it and all of a sudden I was not next to mom. I was at the other end of the room. The instructor didn’t ask or explain. She just took action and I followed. What was I going to say? I thought of, “I want to be here.” or ” Don’t move me .” Maybe I could have suggested to stay where I initially placed my stuff, but I just trusted her.

She placed my mat and chair next to a couple and their 40 year old son with Down syndrome.  The way they enjoyed the class was lovely.

I could have left the room right there. I had already received the teaching of the day.

We, as human beings are so used to be in control; sometimes at work, sometimes at home, even with friends or having fun. It is definitely important to have structure in life, but I think that most of the time we are in autopilot mode, and as a habit we are controlling.

When life goes unexpectedly, there are many things you can fight against, but at some point, at least against reality, you can not.

I was sharing that beautiful yoga practice with people who are either entering a new stage of life, dealing with an illness (as dad is with cancer), the consequences of an accident or just the fact that they were born with a disability.  I am sure some of them, at some point, have probably resisted their personal situation.

There they are though, to relax, flow and understand that we are souls in a physical experience, to release whatever doesn’t serve you and to accept, or to challenge yourself so as to make the best out of your condition or life experience.

I was so relieved when the class ended. There was such a good energy in the room, and so many sweet, kind smiles in the participants’ faces.

It is clear it is not the same to be almost 40 years old than to be 80. Hopefully I will have many more years to experience how to let go, trust and flow. In the meantime, I’ll keep practicing and learning.

